Maharashtra, Tamil Nadu among 13 states barred from power exchanges after they fail to pay bills

India has blocked nearly half the country’s provinces from accessing spot power exchanges after they failed to pay bills worth ₹51 billion ($640 million), as it implements new rules aimed at forcing states to make timely payments. Thirteen provinces won’t be able to buy or sell electricity at power exchanges until they pay their dues to […]